924GZ wheel loader hydraulic problem

Mechanics Hub Forums Construction Equipment Loaders 924GZ wheel loader hydraulic problem

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Ben 3 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Hi All,

I hope you don’t mind, I’m not a mechanic, I’m translating for a neighbor here in Paraguay, South America who runs a few pieces of heavy equipment (he started out as a mechanic), but doesn’t speak English.

He has two 924GZ wheel loaders (both he got used). The first one runs fine in all ways, he’s using 15 W 40 oil for the hydraulics system.
    However, the second one has no strength behind the hydraulics and the hydraulic fan quits frequently.

He cleaned and blew out everything and replaced the oil it had when it showed up (with 15 W 40, he doesn’t know what it had when it arrived). He tried the Cat rep here, but they charged him a fortune and left it worse off than when he gave it it them.

The machine supposedly had 4500 hours on it, but the marker is broken and he suspects at least twice that really.

He’s hoping it just needs a heavier oil due to normal loosening up, but as the oil change would be expensive (business is even tougher here than it is in the USA right now) he’s hoping to see if there’s something else he should check, or what other problems it could be…I sort of wonder about the pumps (for the shovel or the secondary for fan and brakes), but I’m no mechanic.

I appreciate any help you can give us, my neighbor is a guy who came up from nothing (he speaks the Indian language much better than he does Spanish) and is trying to get something done with his life, and that’s really diffficult here. I figured you all wouldn’t mind giving him a hand if you know of something that might help. Thanks.

#27788 Reply

Ben
    Participant