Automotive Tech Looking for Advice on Transition to Equipment or Forklif

Mechanics Hub Forums Career + Skills New to the Trade/Getting Started Automotive Tech Looking for Advice on Transition to Equipment or Forklif

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Teno Christofano 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Teno Christofano

Hi everyone,

I am in search of information on what I might expect making the transition from automotive to equipment or forklifts. I don’t have too many people to turn to, so this looks like the best place. I have quite a few questions, and I apologize if it’s too much for this forum.

A little about me first. I am an ASE Master Automotive Technician with 13 years experience. My work is mostly concentrated on diagnostics (electric, engine), major engine repair (gas), and air conditioning, although I do perform all other repairs when needed. I work on all makes and models, so my ability to learn on the fly, and my research skills are strong.

If any of you have worked in Automotive, you probably know that turning out a high volume of cars far outweighs the importance of quality repairs. Also, flat rate labor times are often not “profitable” for the tech, especially diagnostic work. This, combined with the need for a new challenge, are what’s driving me towards making a change.

I do have a few concerns and questions.

1) I have a family to support, so earnings are important. What can I realistically expect to earn per hour starting out? (I live in Pittsburgh, PA)
    Also, what type of hourly rate could I expect if I build myself up to a “Master” level tech? I would imagine overtime is easy to get.