Starting your own Service business with your own service truck

Mechanics Hub Forums At Work Shop Talk Starting your own Service business with your own service truck

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Gordon 3 years ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

CATtech

Ive been a heavy equipment mechanic for 5 years and have been considering going out on my own and getting my own truck, but I don’t know where to start. I would appreciate any advice and information from those who have done it or have information on where and how to start.

#29236 Reply

I have been a heavy duty tech for 17 years now. I am working on construction and ag equipment. I thought about starting my own business as well. I currently work as a resident field service tech for a dealership.
    In my opinion it would be difficult to keep up with new technology if you run your own business. I enjoy working on new equipment with the newest technologies and I receive some factory training a couple of times a year. How do you troubleshoot the new emission control systems or check error codes on a machine if you don’t have the factory supplied software and hardware? Unlike the automotive industry, the heavy duty industry does not supply this technology to the public. If you enjoy doing more of the gruntwork like undercarriage work or resealing hydraulic cylinders, then there might be work out there. I think it depends where you live. I find that the bigger construction and oilfield companies in my area all keep service techs on staff that do that kind of work. They only call for help if it is something they cant handle.
    Like I said, this is an interesting topic and I will keep following it to see what other guys have to say.
    Good luck with your decision

Andy

#39052 Reply

Gordon